IL Department of Ag Recognizes Top Employees at Awards Ceremony

IL Department of Ag Recognizes Top Employees at Awards Ceremony

Kim Hamilton's promotion work gained her the prestigious Director's Achievement Award.

Kim Hamilton, who helps Illinois companies gain access to foreign markets and increase export sales, was presented the Director's Achievement Award at the Illinois Department of Agriculture's 33rd annual Employee Luncheon and Awards Ceremony.

"Kim does a terrific job," says acting ag director Jim Larkin. "Since 2003, when the Bureau of Marketing and Promotion began tracking sales figures, her work on behalf of Illinois companies has generated sales of more than $116 million, which is outstanding."

Hamilton, a Chatham resident, has worked for the department more than 21 years.  She was selected from among 12 Employee of the Month award winners.  Other finalists were:  Delayne Reeves, Kim Nevius, Valerie Booth, Jeri Cima, Mark Cinnamon, Debbie Griffiths, Carol Faires, Marty McManus, Judy Campbell and Jackie Eckert. 

Karen Fraase, a fellow employee of the Bureau of Marketing and Promotion, was presented the Assistant Director's Fellowship Award.  Fraase, of Springfield, was honored for her helpful nature and cheerful attitude

Warehouse Examiner Jerry Franks won the Ag Ambassador Award.  Franks, a Sterling resident, has worked tirelessly to implement his bureau's new Examnet Self Inventory Program, serving as the primary liaison between the department and the grain industry.  Because of his efforts to educate licensees and alleviate their concerns, the program has gained widespread acceptance.

The successful implementation of Examnet also earned an award for Franks' employer, the Bureau of Warehouses, which was presented the Commitment to Quality Award. 

The Ron King Award for Efficiency went to Kim Nevius of Heyworth, a supervisor in the Bureau of Meat and Poultry Inspection. 

"Kim is a very competent supervisor, establishing quarterly work unit meetings to train inspectors and promote meat and poultry inspection," co-workers who nominated him for the award said.  "He can always be counted upon." 

Forty-four employees were honored during the ceremony for 10, 20, 25, 30 and 40 years of service. A complete list follows:

40 Years

Rebecca Harness, Jacksonville

30 Years

Stephen Bainter, Macomb

Larry Baker, Sullivan

Jackie Eckert, Springfield

Gerald Franks, Sterling

Lori Kirby, Mason City

Paul Milby, Springfield

Kevin Randles, Kankakee

25 Years

Michael Adams, Rochester

Richard Boyd, Rushville

Steve Breckenridge, Taylorville

Mark Burtle, Glenarm

Judith Campbell, Auburn

John Fortner, Pawnee

Thomas Jablonski, Tamaroa

Jeff Mason, DuQuoin

Richard Mathre, Avon

Janis Powell, Maquon

Sharon Powell, Williamsville

Kevin Pyle, DuQuoin

Mary Roth, Glenarm

Carl Savage, Streator

Todd Stewart, Mt. Olive

Gary Woodside, Pinckneyville

Neal Zelasko, Centralia

20 Years

Jeryl Cima, Cantrall

Charles Davis, Rochester
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.