There's Still Time to Submit a Write-In Candidacy for Commodity Board Eleections

There's Still Time to Submit a Write-In Candidacy for Commodity Board Eleections

Applications must be notarized and turned into IDOA Director Tom Jennings' office by June 28.

The terms of six Illinois Soybean Association District Directors will expire on July 31, 2011.

Although the May 15 petition-filing deadline has passed, Illinois soybean farmers still can seek election for five of the open positions. To be considered for candidacy, interested persons should request an application to be a write-in candidate from the Illinois Department of Agriculture Director. These applications must be notarized and returned to the IDOA Director by the Tuesday before the election, which would be June 28.

ISA District Directors help shape the direction of the soybean industry at both a state and national level, as well as serve the needs of soybean farmers in their district. To be eligible for a director position, a candidate must be an Illinois resident and a resident farmer of the district he or she seeks to represent, of legal voting age and a contributor to the soybean checkoff.

The five Illinois districts with write-in ballots available are:

District 1: Jo Daviess, Stephenson, Winnebago, Boone, Carroll, Ogle, DeKalb and Lee counties

District 5: Knox, Peoria, Marshall, Putnam, Fulton and Tazewell counties

District 7: Ford, Iroquois and Vermilion counties

District 12: Pike, Scott, Calhoun, Greene, Macoupin and Jersey counties

•District 13: Montgomery, Bond, Fayette and Marion counties

District 9 (Mason, Logan, Cass, Menard, Morgan and Sangamon counties) also has a director opening; however, since a petition for candidacy was filed before the deadline, the farmer nominated will be the only candidate on that ballot.

The elections will be held Wednesday, July 6, 2011, at each county Extension office in the districts where a vacancy exists. ISA's elections will be held the same day as elections for the Illinois Corn Marketing Board and the Illinois Sheep and Wool Marketing Board.

The Illinois Soybean Association is the statewide organization for Illinois soybean growers.  The farmers on its board administer soybean checkoff funds to support research, promotions, and educational programs designed to increase demand for Illinois soybeans and administer legislation and membership programs. For more information, visit:

TAGS: Soybean
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.